Diary of a Would-be Bee Keeper

DaffodilFor years now I have been finding small ways to combine my two biggest passions: making things, and the garden.  I have  grown living wreaths, crafted baskets out of vines from my local woods, sculpted topiaries out of herbs, day-dreamed of weaving trailing plants into fine “earthen rugs”, obsessively photographed field upon field of corn, soy and wheat, and lately I’ve been thinking of taking up bee-keeping.

It didn’t help that I saw and loved the movie The Secret Life of Bees, but in the end I rented the movie because I’ve been interested in bees for a long time now.   When my good friend Lena from Ireland was telling me about her childhood experiences casting candles at  catholic school in Belfast,  it dawned on me, that this is a way I could beautifully meld my interest in bee-keeping with my sculptural talents.

During this upcoming season of Easter, I have been inspired to sculpt small  devotional figures that I sculpting candle prototypesplan to mold and cast into fine beeswax candles.  Of course my own beeswax wouldn’t be ready yet, because I don’t have bees yet!  But I do have a bee box plan in hand, and I’m  off to purchase the lumber today.  Check out this interesting Top Bar beehive box at www.biobees.com. I’m so excited to learn about bees!

And together, with their help and the fragrance of my expanding garden, I want to offer the most beautiful, pure, artisinal candles cast with a lot of heart.  I have a million design ideas!  Please check back soon!

Leave a Reply

